May 24, 2024 — The Springfield Area Educational Foundation hosted its annual Arts and Achievers Hall of Fame ceremony, honoring outstanding alums and educators who have made significant contributions to their fields and communities. The ceremony featured anecdotes of the honorees' journeys through the Springfield School District and celebrated their post-graduation achievements. Two former teachers were also recognized for their impact and influence during their careers within the district. The 2024 inductees included Jeannie (Tourscher) Cammarota, Dave Perillo, Rich Sangillo, Thomas "T.J." Colaiezzi, Joseph Dascola, William "Chip" Mackrides, Marshall Mirarchi, and Sharon Taylor.


  • Jeannie (Tourscher) Cammarota: A dedicated teacher in the Springfield School District for over 26 years (1991-2017), Jeannie initiated impactful programs such as Artist in Residencies, the Japanese Art Exchange, and the sculpture garden at Sabold Elementary.
  • Dave Perillo: An acclaimed artist, illustrator, and designer, Dave graduated from SHS in 1992 and has since collaborated with major brands, including Disney, Target, Marvel, Pixar, Nickelodeon, and Cartoon Network.
  • Rich Sangillo: A 1994 SHS graduate, Rich is a Creative Director & Developer known for designing campaigns for Sony, Fox, and Netflix and contributing to human space flight missions for NASA.
  • Thomas "T.J." Colaiezzi: Graduated in 2000, T.J. transitioned from fitness industry executive to entrepreneur, co-founding and leading LifeBrand, a software company, as CEO and President.
  • Joseph Dascola: A 1963 graduate, Joseph is an international executive and community leader who served as Director of Operations for Prince Racket Co., President of Franklin Mint Canada, and Calstar.
  • William "Chip" Mackrides: After graduating in 1971, Chip became a Township Supervisor, lawyer, and judge, earning recognition as a "PA Super Lawyer" and numerous awards for distinguished community service.
  • Marshall Mirarchi: A 2001 graduate, Marshall joined the U.S. Secret Service, Special Operations, Tactical Canine Unit, earning awards for valor, the British Order of Merit, and Special Agent of the Year.
  • Sharon Taylor: A beloved language arts teacher from 1958 to 1993, Sharon inspired students to think critically, fostering mutual respect, self-worth, and motivation to achieve their best.

Additionally, two Rising Stars were honored:

  • Emily Feehery: A 2011 graduate, Emily has excelled in photography, earning a Bachelor in Fine Arts from The University of the Arts. Her work in jewelry photography has been showcased in the New York City subway system through Lagos.
  • Nicole Melso: A project scientist, Nicole is revolutionizing modern astronomical technology and making significant strides in her field.

The Rising Star award aims to recognize high-achieving young alums under 40, highlighting their early accomplishments and fostering a strong connection between SHS alums, the Springfield Area Educational Foundation, and the Springfield School District. Sun East Federal Credit Union proudly sponsors the Rising Star Award.


The Springfield Area Educational Foundation is proud to honor these distinguished individuals and celebrate their contributions to society.


There are no news posts to display